T20 World Cup 2022 Warm-Up Matches Schedule, Fixtures, Time Table

T20 World Cup 2022 Warm-Up Matches Schedule, Fixtures, Time Table

The T20 World Cup 2022 Warm-Up Matches Schedule is now live and it will start on 16th October 2022. As usual, there will also be some practice matches, or call them warm-up matches before the world cup starts. The goal of warm-up games is to get used to the courts, venues, and weather conditions before the actual start of the tournament.

According to the preparation match schedule for the T20 world cup 2022, a total of 15 matches will be played between 16 teams in Groups A, B, 1, and 2. Each team, except England and Australia, will play 2 matches before starting the world cup in 2022.

2022 Men’s T20 World Cup Warm-up Matches Venues

Four venues have been selected as per the Warm-up matches schedule which includes:

  • Junction Oval, Melbourne
  • MCG, Melbourne
  • The Gabba, Brisbane
  • Allan Border Field, Brisbane

According to the warm-up match schedule announced by ICC, the aforementioned venues will have the opportunity to host 4 matches each.

Warm-up matches will consist of 20 overs but will not be counted as official ICC T20 matches. All teams may field all members of their 15-man squad during these matches.

The preparation games for the T20 World Cup 2022 will start on October 10 and will continue for 6 days until October 19. This means that each day 3 to 4 games will be played.

T20 World Cup 2022 Warm-Up Matches Schedule

The schedule of the warm-up fixtures for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022!
The schedule of the warm-up fixtures for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022!
No.DateTeamsTime (LOCAL)Venue
1Oct 10, MonWest Indies vs United Arab Emirates11:00 AMJunction Oval, Melbourne
2Oct 10, MonScotland vs Netherlands03:00 PMJunction Oval, Melbourne
3Oct 10, MonSri Lanka vs Zimbabwe07:00 PMMCG, Melbourne
4Oct 11, TueNamibia vs Ireland07:00 PMMCG, Melbourne
5Oct 12, WedWest Indies vs Netherlands07:00 PMMCG, Melbourne
6Oct 13, ThuZimbabwe vs Namibia11:00 AMJunction Oval, Melbourne
7Oct 13, ThuSri Lanka vs Ireland03:00 PMJunction Oval, Melbourne
8Oct 13, ThuScotland vs United Arab Emirates07:00 PMMCG, Melbourne
9Oct 17, MonIndia vs Australia02:00 PMThe Gabba, Brisbane
10Oct 17, MonNew Zealand vs South Africa02:00 PMAllan Border Field, Brisbane
11Oct 17, MonEngland vs Pakistan06:00 PMThe Gabba, Brisbane
12Oct 17, MonAfghanistan vs Bangladesh06:00 PMAllan Border Field, Brisbane
13Oct 19, WedAfghanistan vs Pakistan01:00 PMThe Gabba, Brisbane
14Oct 19, WedBangladesh vs South Africa06:00 PMAllan Border Field, Brisbane
15Oct 19, WedIndia vs New Zealand06:00 PMThe Gabba, Brisbane

T20 World Cup 2022 Format

Australia is the defending champion courtesy of their victory at the T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates in 2021. The first round of the upcoming competition for Group A and Group B will begin on October 16. The first round will last until October 21 at which time the Super 12 stage of the tournament will begin.

Group A: Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, Netherlands 

Group B: West Indies, Scotland, Ireland, Zimbabwe

The winner of Group A and the runner-up of Group B will be moved into Group 1 of the Super 12 stage, while the winner of Group B and the runner-up of Group A will be drawn into Group 1 of the Super 12 stage. The opening match of the main event is scheduled to take place on October 22 between Australia and New Zealand. On November 13, the final will take place at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Group 1: Australia, England, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Group A winner, Group B runner-up

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Group B winner, Group A runner-up

Read Also: T20 World Cup 2022 Kit, Jersey, Sponsor, Design, Color

Leave a Reply