Australia Cricket Team for T20 World Cup 2022

Australia Cricket Team for T20 World Cup 2022

Australia has announced its 15-member 2022 T20 cricket world cup player roster along with traveling reserves. The Australian ICC World Cup 2022 team is equipped with 7 bowlers, 3 specialist batsmen, 3 all-rounders, and 2 Weketkeeper.

Aaron Finch will take the leadership role for Australia at the T20 World Cup in UAE in 2021. There is pressure on Australia to end their drought of winning ICC titles – they last won CWC in 2007 – but they are yet to win a T20 World Cup.

Australian teams aren’t considered favorites for this ICC tournament. Over the last 2 years, their performance in this format has been pretty average. After a 4-1 loss in the West Indies, they were defeated 4-1 by Bangladesh earlier this year.

Australia Squad For T20 World Cup 2022 Announced

“This is a similar squad to that which became the first Australian’s men’s team to win a T20 World Cup, who are now very excited about playing the tournament at home,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said in a statement.

“Mitchell Swepson was unlucky to miss out based on conditions in the UAE at the last World Cup where we planned for tired, spinning wickets compared to what we would expect are good batting conditions along with the larger grounds in Australia.”

Read Also: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule, Fixtures, Time Table (With PDF Download)

Captain: Aaron Finch

Aaron Finch is the Australian Cricket Team Captain for the 2022 T20 World Cup. His nickname is Finchy and is a Right-handed Batsman. He has played 76 T20 Matches with an average of 37.46 and a Strike Rate of 150.24.

Australia squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022: 

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Reserve Players: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams

Head Coach: Justin Langer

Justin Langer is the Australian Cricket Team Head Coach since May 2018. He was born on 21 November 1970 in Perth, Western Australia. He is a former Australian Batsman and holds the record for the most runs scored at the first-class level by an Australian.

Head Coach: Justin Langer
Senior Assistant Coach: Andrew McDonald
Batting Coach: Michael Di Venuto
Batting Coach: Jeff Vaughan

The qualifiers will begin on October 16 this year and a total of 8 teams divided into two groups will be competing for the final t20 spots in the league stage. The league stage will commence on October 23 and the final is slated to be played on November 13.

Read Also: T20 World Cup 2022 Warm-Up Matches Schedule, Fixtures, Time Table

Leave a Reply